No, I Do Not Want to Talk On the Phone

Hopping on a “quick call” is my Dante’s Seventh Circle of Hell.

Felicia C. Sullivan
6 min readMar 24, 2023

--

Licensed from Adobe Stock // Prostock-studio

Watch me stifle a yawn as Jack Torrence, Michael Meyers, and Jason Voorhies wield sharp objects with the intent of filleting me. Witness me fall into a blissful slumber in the Amityville House while blood rains down the walls. I’ve no problem falling prey to a videotape that kills me once I watch it. A death by possession, bludgeoning, or a Satanic ritual performed by bored, goat-murdering teenagers in Cleveland does not concern me.

What concerns me is your request to hop on a “quick call” to catch up, circle back or touch base. Because you and I both know it’s never quick. Want to catch up? Send me an email.

And who hops? Do you hop? I would like to be privy to your hopping habits. I’ve been told they’re bunnies on TikTok that bounce.

One would think since I was born in the mid 1970s, I love the phone. I most certainly do not. I hated talking on the phone in the 80s and early 90s when that was the only decent form of communication. The phone would ring and you’d have no idea who was on the other line. It could be your best friend, your worst enemy, a crank caller drunk on Little Cesar’s pizza at a sleepover, or a concerned educator from your school. The phone was so risky I’d let it ring for a few…

--

--

Felicia C. Sullivan

Marketing Exec/Author. I build brands & tell stories. Hire me: t.ly/bEnd7 My Substack: https://feliciacsullivan.substack.com/ Brand & Content eBooks: t.ly/ZP5v